Counterintuitive advice

25302863624_112248b24b_c

Counter Spin! by Kalle Gustafsson, Attribution License

This one by Chris Smith on the LSE blog is worth taking a look at as it presents some alternative views from the usual things you see about. Chris covers a few areas and a couple deserve some comment:

Productivity is personal
in other words, what works for one person won’t necessarily work for you. I do explain how to do things to students and on this blog quite often :). I try to make sure its clear that I am not suggesting there is only way. I hope they get it because I completely agree with Chris on this one.

Writing less is one of the best things you can do for your productivity
This one is talking about not waiting until you have long periods of available time to start writing, but to use the small amounts of time you have. Definitely – its how I got my doctorate done.

Done is always better than perfect
guilty as charged here!

When you really want to keep writing – stop
hmm not sure this one would work for me. Chris is referring to stopping while you are on a roll. Maybe it would work for people who aren’t interrupted all the time anyway like I am (all mothers will relate to this and a bunch of others too!)

Writing can make you happy
Yeah definitely…

Check out the other counterintuitive pieces of advice here.
https://blogs.lse.ac.uk/impactofsocialsciences/2019/10/18/10-counter-intuitive-insights-from-an-academic-writing-coach/

 

Leave a comment